Why I Travel.

It’s been years since I started this  blog and While this is one of the first questions I should have asked and answered, for some reason, I’ve always missed it.

So, why do I travel?

Maybe it’s escapism; or trying to find myself; or learning more about the world; or maybe it’s as simple as I never have as much fun as when I’m traveling. The truth of the matter is traveling gives you access to so much of all of the above.

There are so many places to see with tiny seen and unseen beauty and the idea that I haven’t seen it has me itching to move. And it doesn’t matter if it’s somewhere I’ve never been or somewhere I’ve been a thousand times over, I can always reach out and find something new (ie. we’ll be looking out at Disneyland next week).

Since camping has become such a huge part of my life, I always feel stuck when I get back home – I’m always ready to get back out there. Again, this is why it’s been so hard to say no to heading out to Iceland even with all the legitimate reasons I have to saying no.

So I guess the biggest reason I haven’t been able to ask or answer this question is that it’s both much harder to define and yet so simple of an answer that it’s just stayed below my radar: there’s very little I enjoy more. The only word I can think that even comes close to explaining how I feel is freedom.

I know this is short but let me know: why do you travel? What does travel mean to you?

This is Leave on the Wind, helping you soar.

P.S. Oh and shout out to our lovely contributor, Libby, who just got engaged at – if you’ve been following along – you guessed it, a marathon! You may have seen this on CBS if you are in the San Fran area!

Why I Travel.

Leave a Reply

