Dancing at Bus stops…

One thing that you can’t live anywhere without, AKA one of my best memories/nights in London.

IMG_6330.JPG
South London. September 2015.

I’ve given a lot of advice about a range of subjects from how to pack to dealing with travel companions to sites to see, but for me the thing that I think is the most important to keep in mind, whether you are traveling or moving somewhere new, is finding friends or people to surround yourself with who let you act silly and enjoy yourself.

One night back in September (which I mentioned briefly in another post), I went with a friend of mine to see her friends band. After the show, we all stayed out despite the cold singing all the way down in the southern part of London. The night was a riot.

By the time we all got to the tube station, the last train back north (where four of us girls lived) had just departed, meaning we were fated for a long wait across three buses spanning 2 hours.

It took about 5 minutes of standing around (out of a 30 minute wait for the next bus)  in the cold for us to decide that freezing was not worth making good impressions. Soon our quartet turned into a mess of giggles and dancing in the middle of the night (a little after midnight).

Between the Electric Slide/Hustle and a very enthusiastic variation of the Cha-Cha, which accidentally flagged down a wrong bus or two, we were all fast friends, doubling over practically to tears and plenty warm. This only intensified as we watched the expressions of passersby who were obviously not use to our kind of antics. More than once, we watch people almost give themselves whiplash from noticing and then eyeing us as they drove by.

Now that I’ve moved back home and am contemplating where I will be heading next, this is a memory that jumps out at me.

If I can give anyone any advice about the people to surround yourself with, it is people who you can just dance around in public with with no fear about making an ass out of yourself or looking like a complete idiot.

I have found that this can be a lot easier if you are traveling since you can tell yourself that you will never see any of these people again, but I think it’s important to (and I’m trying to) bottle that feeling and incorporate it into the rest of my life (along with saying what I mean as bluntly and straight forwardly as possible – another skill picked up through traveling).

This was quick and a little scattered but of all the thing I think traveling can teach is figuring out exactly what you want to do and the kind of people you want to surround yourself with.

But again, this is just what I’m looking at moving forward. Sorry this is a little less travel-oriented, but I needed to get this down. So until next time:

This is Leave on the Wind, helping you soar.

Dancing at Bus stops…

Leave a Reply

