Moving Home for Christmas….

A quick post on my experience of the biggest season for airport travel all year.

IMG_7538
One last shot. Cental London, UK. December 2015.

 

I landed yesterday at LAX after one of the most stressful trips I’ve ever had. This had nothing to do with crews or airlines, but purely a stressful day at a stressful time of year.

I know I talk about planning and scheduling a lot but sometimes things still go wrong no matter what. Luckily, this didn’t happen but yesterday, but it was a pretty close call.
Why? Because I had never expected to have to deal with going through customs between flights. Therefore, double check WHERE you are going through customs and schedule accordingly! This is even bigger in high travel seasons (ie. the holidays!).
I was extremely lucky flying through Minneapolis rather than New York (like I almost did) as customs, rechecking bags, and going through security again only took 45 minutes.
In the end, this worked out well because I avoided doing it at the insanity of LAX,  but just a heads up to anyone and everyone making international flights this holiday season: check where you are going to have to do extra work and plan accordingly – this is not the time any of us want to miss a flight.
I know this was a quick post and I didn’t really explain the craziness (30 minutes of turbulence was – almost literally – sickening) of the trip, but I’m tired and it’s almost Christmas and there are a million things left to do.
So, until next time:
This is Leave on the Wind, helping you soar.
Moving Home for Christmas….

Leave a Reply

