And standing in for…

or the art of avoiding awkward selfies.

Sam and Dean's Awesome Summer Adventure. Neuschwanstein Castle. Balvrian Mountains, Germany. June 2015.
Sam and Dean’s Awesome Summer Adventure. Neuschwanstein Castle, Munich, Germany. June 2015. Credit: Tamara Gallagher.

We’ve all done it; we’ve all been the person trying to hit just the right angle, fighting with the selfie-stick, or searching for a friendly face in the crowd, all in search for some kind of image with us that shows where we are and who we’re with (hopefully) at the same time.

Sam and Dean's Awesome Summer Adventure. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France. June 2015. Credit: Tamara Gallagher.
Boys Cont. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France. June 2015. Credit: Tamara Gallagher.

Well, this may not solve all the issues, but while traveling with my mom and sister, I think I have now found my favorite way of avoiding not only the awkward travel selfie, but having to be in my travel pictures at all while still feeling like these are MY travel experience pictures:

Find your double.

Across this post, you’ll find a mix of images from our trip of WB’s Supernatural brothers my family brought to help track their journey.

Also, this can really be anything you are willing to cart around on your back from a childhood toy to these handy figures (from Funko POP Vinyl collections) to your travel book of the moment. The point is to find something that represents you in some small way that is playful and easy.

Friet Museum, Bruges, Belgium. June 2015. Credit: Tamara Gallagher
Friet Museum, Bruges, Belgium. June 2015. Credit: Tamara Gallagher

When it came to us traveling, what I loved was how creative this got. The boys had a twitter feed, some Tumblr posts and more than a few facebook updates via our accounts or their own (run by my sister). I could easily throw some instagram into the mix. Whatever you would normally post with, these can fill in.

This is also great if you are like me and really can’t be bothered to be in (read: actively avoid) your travel pictures, but don’t want your pictures to be just anyone else’s photo album.

I’m a little sad that my Tinkerbell didn’t make the journey, but I’m sure you’ll be seeing this in the future (though not until next year!).

Again, this is another quick post during my (second round!) of moving this month, but enjoy and let me now how you might avoid the awkward selfie!

This is Leave on the Wind, helping you soar.

And standing in for…

Leave a Reply

