Double dog dare…

…yourself. (Within measure!)

707

Below the Bridge. Waterloo Bridge, London, England. Summer 2013.

So, one thing I have learned from traveling and entering (read: planning!) this new chapter of my life in a new and exciting adventure is that there are times when you just have to dive in.

I am lucky enough to be… full of moxie, as one might say. I don’t know how it happened but I’ve been one to jump into life choices and then halfway through have to pause and say, “Wow. Look at this. How did I get here?” (I’m working on embracing the experience, rather than freaking out half way through, of course. We’re all works in progress, right?)

From joining a boys’ football team and becoming a student ambassador and traveling without my family in middle school, to going out to a club with strange boys in Dublin, to applying to grad school and moving to a new country within a span 6 months, I plot quickly and take a leap.

Yes, I know that this is a blog that is (primarily) about planning trips and adventure and really pushing the research aspect of said planning, but I’ve also said that there are plenty of things that can’t be planned for.
And even more, there are times when you really don’t want to have it all planned.

I have a friend (and this really isn’t code for me) who can’t take a leap; instead she sits around, taking her cues from those around her. Luckily, she does have people who push her to take small steps outside of her comfort zone and therefore has stories to rival pretty much any go-getter.

This is fine; great really. Except for one small issue: It’s never on her own.
One thing I have discovered about life in my 23 years here is that you’ve got to have some passion and let it lead you. The key to diving in is to embrace the experience. Thomas Edison made the point that something not working isn’t failure if you don’t give up; you simply find a thousand (or however many times you try) ways not to do something.

So my advice is to go out and try. Try new food, say yes when your first instinct is to say no, start a conversation with a stranger, don’t just stand by the wall and watch but get out on the floor and dance, wander and wonder what else you can push, but mostly just be in the moment and let things happen.

But for your safety, have a safety net. Whether this means leaving a note to let people know where you are going and who with at home or abroad, or making connections where you are going to be through people you know at home. If you have ever watched a horror film, you should know the dangers of being alone, not necessarily physically but in the sense of no one knowing where you are.

In March, I applied to grad school programs that will be starting up in September. My schools are in countries where I have visited but, besides that little bit of time with my family, it’s a foreign place where I know no one. However, I do work with an author who happens to know people. This is the point, go have your adventures but use what you have in the process of having them.

So, Double dog dare yourself. Dare to take one step (or leap) out of your comfort zone. This doesn’t have to be everyday but why not? If you are safe, you have little to lose and so much to gain. Think of the stories you can tell, the things you’ll see, and the people you’ll meet. Have an Adventure!

If your life was written, would you enjoy reading it?

Keep adventuring and enjoy,

This is Leave on the Wind, Helping you soar.

Double dog dare…

One thought on “Double dog dare…

  1. hey! whats up? i’m loving this recent post of you.
    I have also blogged about some 10 good reasons why traveling is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.

    here’s what my recent post is all about…
    http://talkaboutbeauty.wordpress.com/2014/07/09/10-reasons-why-traveling-is-the-only-thing-that-makes-you-richer/

    What can you say about it? would be so nice to hear from you! 🙂

    All the best! xx

    deanna ( http://www.talkaboutbeauty.wordpress.com )

Leave a Reply

